CD16. EMR CD023 also on Spotify

by the English Music Festival

contains Robin's Violin Concerto,

along with Stanford's second violin concerto

and Holst's Walt Whitman overture.

See here for details

EM Records discs continue to attract a high profile and extremely positive reviews – in particular, The Fire That Breaks From Thee: Violin Concertos by Stanford and Milford, has been praised in the musical press, with Malcolm Hayes in the BBC Music Magazine commending “Marshall-Luck’s solo playing, whose handsome tone (full but never gross) and laser-like tuning are remarkable in themselves”, and Robert Matthew-Walker commenting in International Record Review that “I have no doubt that Milford’s Violin Concerto is one of the great discoveries of twentieth-century English music to come to light in the twenty-first”. Andrew Achenbach, meanwhile, of Gramophone, noted of the Milford: “dashingly committed treatment it enjoys, too, from Rupert Marshall-Luck, who receives uncommonly fine support from Owain Arwel Hughes at the helm of the BBC Concert Orchestra”, and went on to agree with Matthew-Walker, that “to my mind, this powerfully affecting 38-minute canvas undoubtedly constitutes a major find and lovers of the English pastoral tradition should lose no time in making its acquaintance.”

Em Marshall Luck, November 2014